Google’s Internet Bus

Posted on February 5, 2009

0


I loved the film ‘Welcome to Sajjanpur’ and there was only one thing I wanted to do for the rest of my life, sit under one of those Banyan tree with a laptop and wifi connection and blog all those stories the villagers had. Someday I really woudl do it, once when I’ll have enough bank balance, I will take internet to the grass routes of India.

Google has lead the way in a landmark sort of project, The Internet bus.

The Internet Bus Project is an attempt to educate people about what the Internet is, and how it may be beneficial to their lives, by taking the Internet experience to them through a customised Internet-enabled bus, which will travel to several towns and cities across India.

The bus is currently travelling around various villages in Tamil Nadu, India with the intention of familiarising peopel with the power of internet. It is going to make people familiar with communnications, search sharing talent through my space etc. The bus has reached Vellore, as we speak. Here’s an interesting slide show of sort.

I don’t know if any body is doing a live blog of the journey of this bus.

Posted in: new media